Impressionism

Artists of the Impressionistic age created some beautiful pieces. The thick and loose brush strokes make the paint vibrant and the colors rich. The brush strokes give the painting a very relaxing and soothing feeling. Many of the art pieces I have looked at almost have a dream like quality: the paint is not clear, it is rather undefined and sometimes blurs together. Berthe Morisot was a very talented artists and one of my favorite artists from the Impressionist era.

The above painting is The Cherry Picker by Berthe Morisot. This painting was painted in 1891 in France. I love the beautifully mixed paint stokes that make the background blend so richly. The dresses and the ladder really stand out because of the pattern of the brush strokes and because of the colors Morisot uses. For example, the background is not defined, but it is composed of green and blue as opposed to the white and cream of the dresses.

Another beautiful piece is Red Boats at Argenteuil by Claude Monet painted in 1875 in Argenteuil where he lived for a period of years. This piece clearly shows the Impressionist style of painting with the thick brush strokes and nature scene.

This painting also shows Impressionistic subjects such as the transitory effect of weather: the clouds look rather promising. The colors blend in Monet’s painting that captures the beauty of a day at the harbor.

I have really grown to love Impressionistic art as I have researched into looking at the art and the lives of the artists of that time. Impressionism depicted scenes from ordinary life or pleasant moments in nature or living. For example, Morisot was well known for a majority of her work having a domestic influence. She painted women in most of her work and they often were shown doing work customary to their roles in society.

Post Impressionism on the other hand was a more structured and formalized then Impressionism. Post Impressionism tried to convey more emotion in the art pieces then the ‘quick impression’ of a scene in Impressionistic art.

Maison Maria on the way to the Chateau Noir by Paul Cezanne is a Post Impressionism painting. Cezanne painted the picture in 1895 in Provence, France. This painting shows the difference of the Impressionistic paintings of other artists and the Post Impression style. For example, although Cezanne’s colors are still a little mixed the brush strokes are more defined. The house and trees actually have shape and lines to define them from the rest of the painting. Cezanne’s painting has structure to it, the house is defined and separate from the sky and ground. Although the Post Impression style is still nice, I prefer the Impressionistic style. Impressionism seems more natural and pleasant and smoother then the sharp structured paintings of Post Impressionism.

 

About lbullen

I am a student at the University of Alaska Fairbanks, studying Business Administration. This semester I am enrolled in Distance classes while I travel. I'm leaving for a month and a half to travel to Australia and Thailand! I'll also spend about a month visiting DC & NY. My philosophy in life at the moment is to make your dreams happen now while you have the chance.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Impressionism

  1. diverdave75 says:

    Good job covering impressionism and post impressionism. How do you like this style compared to earlier paintings? I really like the detail of the older ones. Sometimes it is hard to tell paintings from pictures. I covered some of Monets work also, but the boat subjects are more defined than the works I covered.

  2. aeroland says:

    Amazing write up on Impressionism and Post-Impressionism. I like how you used a few different works from this period. I had never seen the Cherry Picker before and I love it. The use of grays and whites for the dresses and ladder really do pop on the green-blue landscape. Also I am not sure because of the scale of the painting but it looks like Morisot used a different brush stroke on the ladder to make it stand out more.

    I completely agree with you about impressionist paintings having dream like qualities. I also think these blurred and sometimes undefined scenes allow for a multitude of interpretations by viewers.

  3. prwazny says:

    You had a great amount of information and all was very detailed. I really enjoy the paintings you chose and I think you worded how the majority of them look quite accurately. I agree that most of them do look almost like a dream and I couldn’t think of how to word it until I read your post. Great information

Leave a Reply

